all  about me

Personal Notes from the Recent Past

NOW NEW:
CD „Poulenc – Sonatas with piano

poulenc_sonatas_with_piano_cd_cover_170216

The CD is available on the market and can also be directly ordered at E.M.May, 80538 Munich, Bruderstr. 10
Go to the new CD

Double-CD „Babar“

Music by Francis Poulenc | Text by Jean de Brunhoff

The Story of Babar, the little Elephant, mirrors Poulenc’s own vita: the lost paradise of his childhood through the loss of his parents – for Babar it’s his longing for the jungle – Poulenc’s own success story – the coronation of Babar – his ‘joie de vivre’ – always before the backdrop of idealized love!

My Music is my portrait.” (Francis Poulenc, 1963)

poulenc_cd_cover_160809

At the end of the musical tale the reveries of King Babar and his Queen Celeste reach for the stars in melancholic solemnity anticipating to age in harmony. The narration of Babar’s story is to be heard on the CD in German, English and French.

The CD “Babar” is available on the market and can also be directly ordered at E.M.May, 80538 Munich, Bruderstr. 10
Go to the CD

Recording of the month

“… Collectively and individually it would be hard to imagine finer exponents of this marvellous music. Wiese, Lessing, Wienand and May provide sensitively characterised performances. Recorded at three locations under studio conditions the engineering team maintains a consistently high level of sound quality: vividly clear and well balanced. Lovers of French music will relish this beautifully produced release.”
View original article

best_recording

French Enchantment

“This Poulenc recording presents chamber music in its manifold expressions. The faceted richness of the performance here cannot be surpassed. To experience Francis Poulencs Sonata for two Pianos played by Eva-Maria May and Alexander Wienand is an adventure in itself. As on a journey we encounter many different landscapes, contrasting moods, experience motion, hectic acceleration, dive into quietude, partake in magnificent visions. The musicians melt together into one great whole. The unique harmonics provide a sharpness of dissonances, polytonalities, popular expressions and clichéd phrases. In every situation the musians allow the rich harmonies enough time to unfold themselves. They celebrate the quietness and transform nona chords, like the simple C-major triad into exhilarating beauty. The instrumentalists play music with an exuberant love for life, daring wit and all the way to cool aloofness. Lovers of French music will experience sonatas by Francis Poulenc on the highest possible level.”
View original article

Personal Notes from the Recent Past

Fascinated by the richness of color and brilliance of his solo and chamber music compositions, Eva-Maria May has in the past few years added works by the composer Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) to her recital program. Not without reason Arthur Rubinstein and Vladimir Horowitz had already in the 1920’s been sustainably engaged promoting Francis Poulenc.

In collaboration with the Viennese Label “Paladino” a CD came out 2015 exclusively with works of the French composer.
Shortly after its appearance this CD was awarded “Recording of the Month” by musicweb international (“poulenc chamber music” paladino music can be ordered online or by mail directly at E.M. May / 80538 Munich / Bruderstr. 10) (Original article). En Français.

Soon a new CD with Poulenc’s musical fairy tale “Babar” will appear at Paladino with the text read in German, French and English.

2010

Dr. Cathrin Klingsöhr-Leroy, director of the Franz Marc Museum in Kochel in southern Bavaria, has housed around 20 concerts since 2010 in the context of various museum and gallery openings. Here one could hear E.M. May performing works ranging from J.S. Bach to J. Cage.

Since 2005

With the painter and photographer Louis Soltmann music collages (Lapilli 5) were produced, that were to be heard and seen in Duisburg, Cologne and on Lanzarote.

all about me

Matinée am Sonntag, 8. April 2018 im Johannissaal Schloss Nymphenburg 

L´invitation au château – eine „Einladung ins Schloss“ (Schauspielmusik von Francis Poulenc nach dem gleichnamigen Bühnenstück von Jean Anouilh)

Mit den Komponisten Francis Poulenc, Claude Debussy und Jean-Phillipe Rameau lassen Sie sich französisch (á la francaise) verzaubern.

Eine Reise durch die Welt der Musik, Sprache und Malerei.

(„in den Räumen des Schlosses wird nicht nur Tango, sondern auch Boston und English Valse getanzt…“)

Vier Ausnahmemusiker und die Wiener Schauspielerin Jovita Dermota nehmen Sie mit auf diese Reise zum ästhetischen Kosmos von Debussy und Poulenc, die wichtigen Mittler zwischen den Klangwelten der Spätromantik und der melodischen Moderne. Paul Klee würde sagen: eine kleine Reise ins Land der besseren Erkenntnis, vom äußeren Sehen und inneren Schauen.

Die Texte von Paul Klee, der nicht nur Maler sondern auch ein meisterhafter Musiker war, werden von der Wiener Schauspielerin Jovita Dermota einfühlsam interpretiert. Die künstlerischen Konfessionen Klees werfen ein aufschlussreiches Licht auf sein Streben „nicht das Sichtbare wiederzugeben, sondern sichtbar zu machen“.

Hier entsteht zusammen mit der „Suite francaise“ für Cello und Piano und den Texten Paul Klees eine eindrucksvolle Collage von Musik, Sprache und Malerei,

hatte doch Poulenc ursprünglich auch die Komposition nach Vorlagen von Claude Gervaise (16.Jahrhundert)als Bühnenmusik konzipiert.

Corinna Desch, Violine; Klaus Kämper, Violoncello; Eva-Maria May, Piano

Andreas Schablas, Klarinette; Jovita Dermota, Sprecherin

Programm: Sonaten von Poulenc und Debussy; Les Tendres Plaintes von Rameau; zu den Texten von Paul Klee die Suite Francaise für Violoncello und Piano; und Poulencs Trio “L`invitation au château” für Klarinette, Violine und Piano

Veranstalter: ART&CONCERT

Kartenverkauf: München Ticket

Persönliche Anmerkungen zu den letzten Jahren

JETZT NEU:
CD „Poulenc – Sonatas with piano“

Diese neue CD ist das dritte Album der Pianistin E. M. May mit Werken von Francis Poulenc. Zu hören sind drei Sonaten: für Violoncello, Klarinette und Oboe. Ebenfalls eingespielt wurden die Élégie für Horn und Klavier sowie die Bagatelle für Violine und Klavier.

poulenc_sonatas_with_piano_cd_cover_170216

Die CD ist im Handel erhältlich und kann auch direkt bei E. M. May, 80538 München Bruderstr. 10, bestellt werden.
zur neuen CD

Doppel-CD „BABAR“

Musik von Francis Poulenc | Text von Jean de Brunhoff

Die Geschichte von Babar, dem kleinen Elefanten, ist ein Spiegel von Poulencs eigener Vita: Das verlorene Paradies seiner Kindheit durch den frühen Verlust seiner Eltern – für Babar ist es die Sehnsucht nach dem Urwald – Poulencs eigene Erfolgsgeschichte – die Krönung von Babar – „joie de vivre“ – immer vor dem Hintergrund idealisierender Liebe!

„Meine Musik ist mein Portrait.“ (Francis Poulenc, 1963)

poulenc_cd_cover_160809

Am Ende der musikalischen Erzählung gehen die träumerischen Gedanken Richtung Sternenzelt, in melancholischer Feierlichkeit das Altern in Frieden vorwegnehmend. Die Texte zur Geschichte Babars sind auf der CD in Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch zu hören.

Die CD „Babar“ ist im Handel erhältlich und kann auch direkt bei E. M. May, 80538 München Bruderstr. 10, bestellt werden.
zur CD

Recording of the month

„… Collectively and individually it would be hard to imagine finer exponents of this marvellous music. Wiese, Lessing, Wienand and May provide sensitively characterised performances. Recorded at three locations under studio conditions the engineering team maintains a consistently high level of sound quality: vividly clear and well balanced. Lovers of French music will relish this beautifully produced release.“
Zum Original-Artikel

best_recording

Französisch verzaubert

„Diese Poulenc-Einspielung präsentiert Kammermusikwerke in all ihrer Ausdrucksvielfalt. Man kann diese Musik nicht facettenreicher spielen. Francis Poulencs Sonate für zwei Klaviere gespielt von Eva-Maria May und Alexander Wienand zu erleben, kommt einem Abenteuer gleich. Wie auf einer Reise begegnen wir vielen verschiedenen Landschaften, gegensätzlichen Stimmungen, erfahren Bewegung, Hektik, tauchen ein in Ruhe, nehmen Anteil an großartigen Visionen. Die Musiker verschmelzen zu einem großen Ganzen. Die ganz eigene Harmonik bringt Dissonanzen-Schärfe, Polytonalität, Formeln und Floskeln. In jeder Situation lassen die Musiker den reichhaltigen Harmonien genug Zeit, um sich zu entfalten. Sie zelebrieren die Ruhe und verwandeln Nonenakkorde wie simple C-Dur-Dreiklänge zu berauschender Schönheit. Die Instrumentalisten musizieren mit überschäumender Lebensfreude, frechem Witz bis hin zu kühler Sprödheit. Liebhaber der französischen Musik erleben auf dieser Einspielung Sonaten von Francis Poulenc auf allem höchsten
Niveau …“
Zum Original-Artikel

Persönliche Anmerkungen zu den letzten Jahren

Fasziniert vom Farbenreichtum und Brillanz der Solo-und Kammermusik-Kompositionen, hat Eva-Maria May in den letzten Jahren den Komponisten Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) in ihre Recital-Programme aufgenommen. Nicht ohne Grund setzten sich schon in den 1920er Jahren Arthur Rubinstein und Vladimir Horowitz nachhaltig für Francis Poulenc ein!

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Wiener Label „Paladino“ entstand 2015 eine CD ausschließlich mit Werken des französischen Komponisten. Diese CD erhielt kurz nach ihrem Erscheinen von musicweb international die Auszeichnung „Recording of the Month“ („poulenc chamber music / paladino music“), zu bestellen im Handel oder direkt bei E. M. May, 80538 München Bruderstr. 10 (Original-Artikel). En Français

In Kürze wird bei Paladino, Wien, eine neue CD mit Poulencs „BABAR“ erscheinen, die Texte gelesen in Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch.

2010

Frau Dr. Cathrin Klingsöhr-Leroy, Direktorin des Franz Marc Museums, Kochel , inaugurierte seit 2010 ca. 20 Konzerte in verschiedenen Museums- und Galeriekontexten. Hier konnte man E.M.May mit Werken von J.S.Bach bis J.Cage hören.

Seit 2005

Mit dem Maler und Fotografen Louis Soltmann entstanden Musikcollagen (Lapilli 5) die in Duisburg, Köln und auf Lanzarote zu sehen und hören waren